The Jami (Juma) mosque is a monument of Tashkent architecture of the XIV-XV centuries. It is the only sample of a city's cathedral mosque of palace type in Tashkent. Jami Mosque is the basis of the Registan ensemble located in the area of Chorsu square. The period of its construction from the 15th c. to the late 19th c. It is a unique example in Tashkent of a Friday mosque of domestic type built in Central Asia during the era of the late Middle Ages.
The basis of the complex central ensemble is represented by a medieval mosque and madrassah. In 1954 the madrassah was dismantled, but the mosque survived. Today it retained an initial planning basis and the fragments of the first structures. The feature of the mosque is an unusual oblongness of construction along its east-western axis. The entry from the East is not architecturally formed.
The main building represents a cubic space blocked by a dome with four windows in a low drum. The east wall enters the court yard and is divided by a large arch. The dome is spherical without ornamentation, and is based on spherical shields. A curve of small niches at the entrance is lancet, not Central Asian but more likely Gothic contour.
The layout of the mosque is an extension of a large rectangular building bat the end of its longitudinal axis running east to west. By the 18th c. the gallery surrounding the court yard of the mosque had collapsed, and the main building had already been ruined. At that time, the galleries were reconstructed into khudjras with funds from Kaziy Ziyauddin.
In 1888 the main building was also totally rebuilt on the expense of the imperial treasury (subsequently the mosque has received the name "Imperial"). Only the ancient construction layout and fragments of designs have been preserved at best. The base is constructed from stone with the addition of a clay solution. The walls of the mosque and columns are made from square baked clay bricks, with crushed brick as a stone filling.